A Historical Perspective

The professional Women's Association was formed by a group of remarkable women at UCSB in January of 1993. The first elections were held in 1993 with our first Co-Presidents Micael Kemp and Martie Levy. Our Founders are Christina LaVino, Martie Levy, Carol Parsons, Margie Weeks, Jody Kaufman, Louise Moore, Christine Bendele, and Melba Ortiz. Since 1993 we have developed many notable programs, events, and services. The focus of these offerings is to bring awareness of the contributions of women to the mission of UCSB, to support the advancement of women at UCSB, and to serve as a networking channel. Some of our highlights over the years include:

1992: Organizers come together to form PWA
1993: PWA becomes official; first year of book scholarships awarded to non-traditional/re-entry students
1994: Community service begins for local elementary schools
1995-96: Launch of first PWA website
1996: First annual professional development conference
1997-1998: Book Club launches
1997-1998: Unsung Heroine awards were established
2006: Woman of the Year award introduced
2012: PWA 2.0 is born; 20th anniversary celebrated at Birthday Bash
2016: PWA celebrates 20th annual professional conference and reveals new PWA logo
2018: 25th PWA Silver Year Anniversary celebrated at the 22nd Annual PWA Conference

1993-1994: Micael Kemp & Martie Levy            
1994-1995: Sandy De Rousse & Margaret Weeks         
1995-1996: De Acker & Pat Sheppard
1996-1997: Jan Smith & Christine Van Gieson
1997-1998: Sonia Johnston & Gwen Kuhns
1998-1999: Yonie Harris & Ginny Johns
1999-2000: Gina Funderburgh & Gail Johnson
2000-2001: Pam Allen & John Berberet
2001-2002: Amy Jacobs & Candace Stevenson
2002-2003: Lisa Oshins & Carol Wilmoth (Wyzinski)
2003-2004: Cecilia Becerra & Carolyn Buford
2004-2005: Lupe Navarro-Garcia & Kim Equinoa
2005-2006: Barbara Berge & Shana Moran Lanier
2006-2007: Kori Soltz & Elizabeth Yossem-Guy 
2007-2008: Shubra Agarwal & Sandra Camp 
2008-2009: Milinda Cuellar & Anna E. Morales-Castañeda 
2009-2010: Katya Armistead & Gina Gonzales 
2010-2011: Alka Arora, Melanie Matson & Katya Armistead (Acting)
2011-2012: Kelly Erland & Margaret McMurtrey
2012-2013: Kristin Van Ramshorst
2013-2014: Keri Bradford & Britney Craighead
2014-2015: Nancy Chudy & Angelica Diaz
2015-2016: Lia Cabello
2016-2017: Gabrielle Dunne & Roxanna Van Norman
2017-2018: Kelly Walsh & Briana Munoz-Flores
2018-2019: Sarah Koepke & Alexis Wright

2018-2019 Officers & Chairs: